Archive for June 2nd, 2011

Saltaire Arts Trail – May 2011

June 2, 2011
Saltaire Arts Trail informative booklet

Saltaire Arts Trail informative booklet

Bank Holiday Monday I left my lovely ladies, Mandy and Julia, in charge at Heart Gallery to visit Saltaire for their Arts Trail. I’ve always done this on a Sunday in September before as the Open Houses have been part of the Saltaire Festival.

Saltaire with a grey and gloomy morning sky!

Saltaire with a grey and gloomy morning sky!

This year the organisers took the plunge to host the Arts Trail as a stand-alone event and I sincerely thought it worked really well despite the fact that our Yorkshire weather was rather damp for it! This did not seem to put visitors off as all the houses were really busy so I do hope that all makers/artists involved, and the organisers, felt all their hard work payed off.

Wet cobbles in Saltaire

Wet cobbles in Saltaire

I had a plan (of sorts)¬† ….. park in my usual spot on the outskirts of Saltaire so that I could get a walk in too! First stop would be Number 1 Myrtle Place which was one of my favourite houses in September as I met the lovely Laura Slater, textile artist, there and my daughter joined in a book binding demonstration making a little booklet for Grandma for her Birthday.

Laura Slater  in 2 Constance Street

Laura Slater in 2 Constance Street 2011

One of Heart Gallery’s ¬†resident artists Clare Caulfield was also exhibiting with Laura last year but this year she had decided to take the plunge and open her own home to the public exhibiting her own fabulous pen and inks alongside illustrative work by Nick Tankard.

Clare's canvases nestled into her bookshelf

Clare's canvases nestled into her bookshelf

Clare Caulfield - artist and printmaker

Clare Caulfield - artist and printmaker

Clare Caulfield and her Dad in a very busy house!

Clare Caulfield and her Dad in a very busy house!

My aim was to then amble down to the Makers Fair in Victoria Hall. After that, I wasn’t sure what my plan was other than lunch, more houses and coffee with Ceramicist Helen Russell!

One room in the busy Victoria Hall

One room in the busy Victoria Hall

There were quite a few of Heart Gallery’s Hebden Bridge and local makers in the hall so it did take me quite some time to get around but it was fun chatting with them and finding out how busy they had been.

Cathy Edwards - Hand Stitched Leather Bags and Accessories

Catherine Edwards - Hand Stitched Leather Bags and Accessories

Rachel Lucie - Jeweller

Rachel Lucie - Jeweller

Anne Crowther - Textile Artist

Anne Crowther - Textile Artist

Sue Candy - Ceramicist

Sue Candy - Ceramicist

Leigh Shepherd - busy upcycling scrabble tiles, domino pieces and draught pieces with Japanese papers

Leigh Shepherd - busy upcycling scrabble tiles, domino pieces and draught pieces with Japanese papers

Had to stop for a bite to eat and then onto another few houses before meeting Helen Russell for a chin wag. I’ve recently introduced Helen’s elegant hand carved ceramic and silver jewellery to Heart Gallery and we just needed to finalise how many wall pieces she was sending me for the Art At Heart exhibition launching 12th June at Heart Gallery.

Helen Russell - hand carved porcelain and silver necklace

Helen Russell - hand carved porcelain and silver necklace


68 Victoria Road

68 Victoria Road

Another Heart Gallery ceramicist was in 68 Victoria Road along with some very interesting work I hope to book in for 2012 so watch this space!

Sarah McDade - Ceramicist

Sarah McDade - Ceramicist

I had a great day in Saltaire; I had my favourites and discovering unique artworks inside peoples homes was fun and inspiring. If you like to indulge your love of contemporary craft, and are also fascinated by other people’s homes then this Arts Trail is a must so pencil May in for 2012 … you will not be disappointed, I wasn’t.


With Raw Intentions

Eat Clean, Feel Rawesome, Love Life

Heartgalleryblog's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers