Fathers Day

Meet my Dad!

Dad and I sitting in Heart Gallery

Dad and I sitting in Heart Gallery

I love my Dad, I haven’t always but I do now! Family relationships can have their moments; I think it is normal for family members not to get along with each other sometimes! The dynamic between us has been complex over the years as I’ve swung from admiring him to hating him and back again! His attempts at exercising authority when I was younger only led to rebellion and his lack of affection made me feel undervalued and unloved. There has been compromise, commitment and consideration on both parts to various degrees for many, many years but my relationship now is the best it has ever been.

Me and my Dad!

Me and my Dad!

Those that know me understand the reasons for the rollercoaster of a ride that has been difficult for both Dad and myself and that the huge turning point was 6 years ago after my sister took her own life. This caused a shift in both of us but more so in Dad and for the first time since being a wee girl, on the day of Rachel’s funeral, I felt truly loved by him again.

I realise now, at the age I am, that Dad has taught me so much more than I had realised and I am grateful for all those lessons (even though I certainly didn’t think that at the time!). Happy Fathers Day for me is every day of the year as I cherish those moments with him so much and I wish each and every one of you treasured times with your Dad.

Leather Wallets at Heart Gallery handmade by Gregg McDonald

Leather Wallets at Heart Gallery handmade by Gregg McDonald

I can’t buy Dad a leather wallet this year as that was last year’s pressie but Heart Gallery has just had another delivery from Gregg so there are lots of lovely ones to choose from – are you traditional and just want a black one or will you be a devil and choose red, teal, tan or even baby pink leather?

Clare Webster Silk stitched tie

Clare Webster Silk stitched tie

I can’t buy him a tie either as I have already bought him 3 silk ties in different colours from Clare Webster and he doesn’t wear his suit as often these days! Clare has a variety of plain and stitched silk ties in Heart Gallery though and we also have some fabulous printed silk ‘one-offs’ from Taisir Gibreel which are stunning.

Taisir Gibreel printed silk tie and matching hankie

Taisir Gibreel printed silk tie and matching hankie

How about something for Dad to drink his coffee or tea in? Heart Gallery has a lovely collection of mugs from various UK makers and some design led Pantone mugs and Rob Ryan ones too!

Blooming Mug by Jo Clark

Blooming Mug by Jo Clark

Circling Swift mug by Matthew Tyas

Circling Swift mug by Matthew Tyas

Believe in People Rob Ryan Mug

Believe in People Rob Ryan Mug

I would have considered a printed apron and matching oven glove but I am certain that Sandra would not be a happy bunny – she is the chief cook in the house after all!

Fabulous detail on Rachael Taylor printed pinnys

Fabulous detail on Rachael Taylor printed pinnys

Sea Green printed oven mitt

Sea Green Rachael Taylor printed oven mitt

However, then I remembered that if Sandra is the chief cook then Dad is the chief washer upperer ….. and there you have it, the perfect present for Dad this year from talented local graphic designer Andy Pointon, and it’s exclusive to Heart Gallery!

Hebden Bridge tea towel designed by Andy Pointon and exclusive to Heart Gallery

Hebden Bridge tea towel designed by Andy Pointon and exclusive to Heart Gallery

Leave a Reply

