GNCCF

GNCCF at Spinningfields 2011

GNCCF at Spinningfields 2011

This little post is a wee bit late as after this show I was flying off to Tenerife with my family for a much needed holiday after a difficult summer in hospital and time off recuperating. Since I got back from Tenerife it has been chaos climbing that paperwork mountain and getting ready for Christmas at Heart but this show had to get a wee mention so here goes ….  oh and by the way the Tom Dixon lights, supplied by Ferrious, in the window and foyer were amazing; I have drooled over the copper shade pendant for a very long time but unfortunately cannot afford it – I need 3!

Inside the window display looking towards Suet Yi Ceramics

Inside the window display looking towards Suet Yi Ceramics

I had been kindly asked by Angela and Ann-Marie, GNCCF organisers, to be a prize sponsor and offer an exhibition opportunity to one lucky exhibitor and this was a tough decision to make as there was so much talent in that building! I only had 1 1/2 hours to go round all 141 stands and make up my mind, not an easy task at all, although I did have a glamorous assistant with me, Lisa Murdoch and a  glass of white Pinot!

this display caught my ea=ye very early on

This display of Suet's caught my eye very early on

Close up of Suet's ceramic plates/sculptures inspired by nature and observations of every day life

Close up of Suet's ceramic plates/sculptures inspired by nature and observations of every day life

Suet was really pleased with her prize and although really busy herself we shall be working together in the Summer of 2012. In the meantime, take a peek here for what beauties are in store for you when her work arrives at Heart Gallery.

Handing over the certificate to Suet Yi was a pleasure

Handing over the certificate to Suet Yi was a pleasure and I can't wait to work with her in the Summer of 2012

Once the decision was made I could relax slightly and chat to past, present and future makers of Heart Gallery before racing back home to get ready for my early morning flight! Here are a few of my highlights, some work has been showcased in Heart Gallery over the last five years and some is yet to come so watch this space!

Always great to see Tamsin howells and her amazing acrylic jewellery

Always great to see Tamsin Howells and her amazing acrylic jewellery

Adele Taylor's jewellery is amazing - I should know I've bought a fab ring similar to the large one on the poster!

Adele Taylor's jewellery is amazing - I should know I've bought a fab ring similar to the large one on the poster!

Hannah Nunn was glowing, as always

Hannah Nunn was glowing, as always

Sally Pawson's colourful aluminium and silver jewellery arrived at Heart just before GNCCF

Sally Pawson's colourful aluminium and silver jewellery arrived at Heart just before GNCCF

Her customised stand made me smile - I love rainbows x

Her customised stand made me smile - I love rainbows x

I have long admired Emilie Taylor's handbuilt ceramics

I have admired Emilie Taylor's handbuilt ceramics for some time now

I had to fight, well grapple actually, with the girls from The Craft Shop over Kate Lulham's work. Perfect for Heart Gallerybut they will showcase her work before I do in 2012 so you must get along to see it

I had to fight, well grapple actually, with the girls from The Craft Shop in Manchester over Kate Lulham's work. Perfect for Heart Gallery and it will be coming but they will showcase her work before I do in 2012 so you must get along to see it

Katherine Richmond wasn't on her stand unfortunately but her jewellery was stunning

Katherine Richmond wasn't on her stand unfortunately but her jewellery was stunning and I will be in touch with her soon

inspirational jewellery from Kayleigh Biggs

inspirational jewellery from Kayleigh Biggs

Jennifer Collier's recycled and transformed papers are making a return to Heart Gallery in May 2012

Jennifer Collier's recycled and transformed papers are making a return to Heart Gallery in May 2012

Neighbours over the road on Market Street Makepiece managed to set up in record time

Neighbours over the road on Market Street, ethical and sustainable Makepiece, managed to set up in record time

This blew me away. Leila Arzaghi, fragile and precious

This blew me away. Leila Arzaghi, fragile and precious

Faye Power - hand illustrated ceramics, hopefully coming soon

Faye Power - hand illustrated ceramics, fabulous wedding gifts

The stories behind Catherine Chester's conceptual jewellery had me engrossed for some time

The stories behind Catherine Chester's conceptual jewellery had me engrossed for some time, her stand was amazing and she had one proud mummy with her and rightly so

I collected my order from Sarah Tyssen. Limited edition woven scarves and blankets

I collected my order from Sarah Tyssen. Limited edition woven scarves and blankets

Jill Ford's contemporary ceramics are a delight

Jill Ford's contemporary ceramics are a delight

Alix Swan I gave a prize to when she exhibited at Holmfirth earlier this year, her stand was amazing again

Alix Swan I gave a prize to when she exhibited at Holmfirth earlier this year, her stand was amazing again

Another peek at Alix Swan's work

Another peek at Alix Swan's work

Finally, inspired and exhausted I set off for home dreaming of one day owning one of these!

Finally, inspired and exhausted I set off for home dreaming of one day owning one of these!

One thought on “GNCCF

  1. Great post and lovely pictures Alison. The work was sOoooo good this year. Loved so much. Suet L’is were my favourite so I will look forward to them arriving in Heart. Thanks for the mention. X

Leave a Reply

