Meet The Maker – Lucy Palmer

Lucy Palmer - jeweller

Lucy Palmer – jeweller

Lucy creates unique and beautiful jewellery inspired by myths, fairytales and folklore, with an emphasis on animals and the natural world. In her jewellery she escapes the mundane and creates a magical world of enchanted forests, mysterious creatures, and far away places. 

Lucy Palmer - stargazing silver and Keum Boo necklace

Lucy Palmer – Moongazing silver and Keum Boo necklace

The Intricate designs are cut by hand in precious metals and are often layered to give an amazing three dimensional, miniature stage set effect. 

Lucy Palmer - Little Mermaid silver and Keum Boo necklace

Lucy Palmer – Little Mermaid silver and Keum Boo necklace

The design style is influenced by toy theatres, shadow puppets and paper cutting.  Decorative techniques are used to embellish the surface, including ‘Keum Boo’, an ancient Korean technique of fusing 24ct gold foil to silver.

Lucy Palmer - Golden Wandering Fox silver and Keum Boo necklace

Lucy Palmer – Golden Wandering Fox silver and Keum Boo necklace

After graduating from Nottingham Trent University with a degree in ‘Decorative Arts’, Lucy spent several years working as a Community Artist before setting up her Jewellery business in 2007. Each piece of jewellery is handmade by Lucy in her workshop in Derbyshire.

Lucy Palmer - Under The Sea silver and Keum Boo necklace

Lucy Palmer – Under The Sea silver and Keum Boo necklace

Heart Gallery has showcased Lucy’s work before as we absolutely adore her subject matter and admire her techniques and know that you will too so see you soon!

Lucy Palmer - Enchanted Forest silver and Keum Boo necklace

Lucy Palmer – Enchanted Forest silver and Keum Boo necklace

3 thoughts on “Meet The Maker – Lucy Palmer

  1. I love Lucy Palmer’s work and hope to own a piece (or more) one day. Thanks for sharing.
    I really enjoy your Heart Gallery blog, thank you 😀

    Do you know, I went into the strangest (in a bad way) jewellery gallery (if you can call it that) in Bakewell the other day and as there was no info at all displayed with any of the jewellery and I saw a bracelet I thought was particularly wonderful, I asked the owner about it- she said the maker was local, I said ooh, what’s her name? she said I don’t give out that information. I said -confused- why? and she said well, then people could go straight to the maker. So I said but they’re professional surely, so they’re not going to undercut their gallery are they! She said hmmm, it doesn’t always work like that unfortunately (and looked very sour-faced about it). !!! I couldn’t believe it!!! You can’t seriously run a gallery like that- it should be a symbiotic relationship between the gallery who promote their artists and the artists who tell people where their work is available and create work to sell in the gallery -well, you at Heart Gallery know that of course, as you do a marvellous job. Even though I so far have only followed your blog and not visited the physical gallery, you create a wonderful buzz about the artists you represent (which as every good gallery owner knows is exactly what they should be doing!) and it makes me want to come and buy something from your gallery -even to make a special journey – and to tell people about you- which I know I’ll enjoy when I get there because I can tell from your blog that you go to great efforts to make it an experience.
    Needless to say, I shall never be going in that Bakewell gallery (which shall remain nameless but hasn’t got many letters in its name) again!

    1. Hi Amber, Lucy’s work is truly amazing and I do hope you get to own your little piece someday soon. I also hope you do get to visit Heart Gallery in the future – you will see that all the artists’ profiles are displayed with their work and if you buy a piece you are given their artist statement too. It certainly is a two way street and I am blessed with the faith of my makers and they with my enthusiasm and passion. Alison x

Leave a Reply

