Happy Daddy x

Dad and I in Heart Gallery 2011

Dad and I in Heart Gallery 2011

I love this picture of my Dad, taken by Sarah Mason, as it has captured him perfectly; he’s a happy daddy! We haven’t always seen eye to eye; our journey to this point has been a roller coaster but a ride that has had to be taken to understand one another better.

Dad up at Rachel's resting place in The Lakes

Dad up at Rachel’s resting place in The Lakes

Our relationship, since my sister took her own life 7 years ago, is now the best it has ever been and shows that there are always positives from negatives; it just sometimes takes a while to see them. 

Dad and I

Dad and I

I finally learned to forgive him many things and he finally learned to love me for who I am and not what he wanted me to be.

Me!

Me!

I like to think I celebrate the daddy/daughter bond more often than just once a year on Father’s Day but having a date on the calendar for this does seem an appropriate thing to do and only fair that it’s acknowledged. With this in mind, and also that his birthday is in June too, here are a few ideas I have been pondering over for spoiling him with:

Ceramic hearts made for us by Laura Crooks

Ceramic hearts made for us by Laura Crooks

Laura has been making us various ceramic hearts for some time now and they are extremely popular; particularly the personalised ones that we do for Weddings, Anniversaries and Christenings. Her Father’s Day ones do not disappoint.

Pink Chop 2 Pot - Joseph Joseph

Pink Chop 2 Pot – Joseph Joseph

Hot Pot BBQ - Black 'n' Blum

Hot Pot BBQ – Black ‘n’ Blum

Dad doesn’t really cook much but he does prepare all the veg etc for Sandra and enjoys a good BBQ! This Joseph Joseph Chop 2 Pot is a great idea and the Black ‘n’ Blum Hot Pot BBQ that has just arrived is perfect for patios if you are short of space – all your herbs can be planted in the top!

Hand painted pebbles - Natasha Newton

Hand painted pebbles – Natasha Newton

Natasha Newton’s stunning paintings have arrived this week along with these hand-painted pebble sets which make a great gift. The colour palette of these is perfect for Dad’s bathroom and I think there is a bit of space on the windowsill in there!

Black Bamboo and Verbena soy candle

Black Bamboo and Verbena soy candle

Dad always smells gorgeous, taking great pride in his appearance, and he will love this soap and would not mind the matching candle either as he is an old romantic at heart.

Black Bamboo and Verbena goat's milk soap set of two

Black Bamboo and Verbena goat’s milk soap set of two

Dad still enjoys his gardening and over the years has grown and nurtured many clematis which are his pride and joy so he would really appreciate this embroidery by Sarah. She has embroidered flowers and weeds onto brown paper for us and mounted them ready for framing.

clematis embroidery - Sarah Dodd

Clematis embroidery – Sarah Dodd

My daughter has also spotted something in the Gallery for her Dad which is not really my Dad’s cup of tea but worth a mention here just in case there are any more Beatles fans out there reading this, ssshhh, don’t tell my hubby what he’s getting!!

Abbey Road coasters

Abbey Road coasters

Abbey Road coasters

Abbey Road coasters

Abbey Road notebook

Abbey Road notebook

We have a great selection of handmade Father’s Day cards too to chose from so call in to see them soon before they fly off the shelves.

One thought on “Happy Daddy x

  1. beautiful post about your Dad, I lost mine a few years ago and find this day quite hard. Like you, my time with my dad was a roller coaster however I wouldn’t change a bit of it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

