Send in the cleaners!

This really sounds like something from a Tarantino film but I just wanted to write a quick little post on the cleaners that my landlord sent in on Sunday after the floods in Hebden Bridge Friday night!

Market Street flooding - image taken from the internet

Market Street flooding – image taken from the internet Ed Chadwick

I know that I  was really lucky on Friday night, compared to many of my lovely neighbours on Market Street, but I did still suffer and I suppose I naively thought that being set back from the road with gardens would save the building from being flooded by the water and sewage – I was wrong! You cannot protect anything from the forces of nature and I found that to be true today when ironically meeting with my loss adjuster in the garden at the gallery the sky turned black, the heavens opened and a flash storm meant the road outside the gallery and the path leading up to the front door was once again under an inch of water in 7 minutes! (apparently I have been reliably informed that this equates to 12 inches in an hour). Needless to say with both of us without umbrellas or coats we left in rather a soggy state!

One of three dehumidifiers working their socks off to dry out Heart Gallery

One of three dehumidifiers working their socks off to dry out Heart Gallery

Anyway, I am waffling on so back to the cleaners! My landlord came round on Saturday during the clean up to bring dehumidifiers and let me know that the cleaners were arriving Sunday am. I swear that it just sounded like something from a film script! But send them in he did and when they arrived they worked like troopers to scrub the muck out of the reclaimed timber floor and skirtings in all the rooms and sanitise it so no germs could survive!

cleaners in the picture gallery

Cleaners in the Picture Gallery which sells paintings, prints, photography, glass  and ceramics

Cleaners in the back retail room that sells kitchen and homeware

Cleaners in the back retail room that sells kitchen and homeware including retro telephones

Cleaning underway in the Picture Gallery - can you imagine how much we had to shift to make all this possible?

Cleaning underway in the Picture Gallery – can you imagine how much we had to shift to make all this possible?

The cleaners in the back of the building in the office and storerooms - where does the water come from, where does it go??

The cleaners in the back of the building in the office and storerooms – where does the water come from, where does it go? (Think there is a song there somewhere!)

I was so grateful that I also sent them on their ‘aching bone’ way with a bottle of pink fizz which I was told by them would go perfectly with the fish soup they were making for dinner!

Shifting the whole gallery around to clean!

Shifting the whole gallery around to clean!

Shifting the whole gallery around to clean!

Shifting the whole gallery around to clean!

No where to go!

No where to go!

So watch this space ……. hopefully the floor will once more be back to its former glory!

The foor clean and safe from germs x

The floor clean and safe from germs x

So, the cleaners were amazing and I would recommend them to anyone so here is their Facebook PageThanks to the landlord for stepping up to the mark in these difficult circumstances, thanks to friends and family who have been there to support me physically and emotionally (I have yet again learned a valuable life lesson about some), and thank you to my wonderful husband who has had flooding to our other business, The Milk Bar, to deal with along with me and my roller coaster of emotions – I love you xXx

One thought on “Send in the cleaners!

Leave a Reply

