2013 – Bring it on!

Happy New Year to one and all!

Goodbye 2012

Goodbye 2012

Saying goodbye to 2012 was not a difficult task as it had been such a challenging year for all in Hebden Bridge.

2013. Please be good to me

2013. Please be good to me

Looking forward to 2013 is much, much easier after a very encouraging December and start to this new year. Last year’s dreams will become this year’s realities and my list of resolutions is an easy and short but simple one of only six:

The Simple Things

The Simple Things, great new magazine I’ve been inspired by lately

1. Write more letters. I got some lovely stationery from my daughter this year for Christmas and I intend to send friends lovely little letters to make a change from the bills and junk we seem to get too much of through our letterboxes these days!

Beautiful writing paper from Becky

Beautiful writing paper from Becky

2. De-clutter. My daughter’s lovely stationery pressie also included a new address book. Clutter weighs you down and that includes names and addresses of people I no longer have or want in my life. Be gone!

New Address book. Out with the old, in with the new

New Address Book. Out with the old, in with the new

3. Random acts of kindness. I did this a few times last year when I was feeling at my lowest. A sudden desire to just do something for someone else and see the smile on their face just cheered me up no end.

Flowers to say "thank you"

Flowers to say “thank you”

4. Watch more films. I thoroughly enjoy curling up on the settee in my snug with hubby and daughter to watch a film together but didn’t do enough of it last year. The times they are a-changin!

One film I could watch again and again

One film I could watch again and again

5. Don’t worry. I will cease to worry about things that are beyond my control and not waste any of my precious time thinking about it either. I have finally realised that when things go pear shaped it isn’t always something I’ve done wrong. As my mum always said “There’s nowt so queer as folk Alison”.

It all went a bit 'pear shaped'

It all went a bit ‘pear shaped’

6. Try to have a bit more ‘me’ time. It’s my big ’50 years young’ this year and my body is already showing signs of neglect! I will aim to give it a treat once a month and discover new therapies not tried before. First up is Hopi Ear candles at The Banyan Tree in Hebden Bridge to help with my sinuses.

Pamper!

Pamper!

So there you have it! Simple and achievable that’s what I say and if nothing else 2012 once again taught me that what doesn’t kill me makes me stronger and all that really matters in the end is that I am loved and I have a very dear family that support me and a small but significant amount of friends that make a difference.

The past is history, tomorrow is a mystery but today is a gift which is why it is called the present – live it and live it well xXx

The Simple Things magazine - add it to your reading list x

The Simple Things magazine – add it to your reading list x

2 thoughts on “2013 – Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

