Saltaire Arts Trail and Makers Fair 2013

I was honoured to be asked to judge Open Houses this year at Saltaire Arts Trail. As a gallery owner I try to get along to this great event every year anyway to find new gems for Heart Gallery but this year I had a role to play … and it wasn’t an easy one I can tell you! Armed with my programme and with hubby by my side we set off in glorious sunshine to pound the streets of Saltaire and nosy round the homes that were part of the Bank Holiday weekend event.  (We did see a few naughty houses that had tried to sneak in under that ‘umbrella’ too! but we didn’t go in them!)

Arts Trail and Makers Fair programme

Arts Trail and Makers Fair programme

It took longer to get round them all than I had first thought when I realised there were 13 Open houses and 3 exhibition spaces but it was great fun!

Having fun snooping in and out of the Open Houses!

Having fun snooping in and out of the Open Houses and Exhibition Houses!

Clare Caulfield - as busy as ever in her Open House but exciting times ahead for Heart Gallery as she will be having a Solo Exhibition with us Spring 2014

Clare Caulfield – as busy as ever in her Open House and exciting times ahead for Heart Gallery as she will be having a Solo Exhibition with us Spring 2014

Having fun

Having fun snooping in and out of Open Houses and Exhibition Houses

Our very lovely Kate Lycett unveilled her new Whitby lantern

Our very lovely Kate Lycett unveiled her new Whitby lantern

I found the installations really interesting too so if you are heading over to Saltaire tomorrow or Monday do pop to 15 Caroline Street to see performance artist Christopher Mollon (so pleased for him that yesterday’s weather was nowhere to be seen, he would have been so, so cold and wet otherwise):

Christopher Mollon, 15 Caroline Street. the Arc of Orange

Christopher Mollon, 15 Caroline Street. The Arc of Orange

And then pop over the road to 44 Whitlam Street to see her critical but playful look at domestic tasks and also these fab colour co-ordinated bookshelves which tickled me:

Yvonne Carmichael, Chore-ography, 44 Whitlam Street

Yvonne Carmichael, 44 Whitlam Street, Chore-ography

I bumped into quite a few of my current makers over in Victoria Hall at The Makers Fair:

Andy Poplar (won Best In Show)

Andy Poplar (won Best In Show)

Helen Russell

Helen Russell (hadn’t had much sleep getting ready for Saltaire)

Leigh Shepherd

Leigh Shepherd (a rare opportunity for camera shy Leigh)

Fiona Cameron

Fiona Cameron (her birdies fly out of Heart Gallery!)

Moira Fuller

Moira Fuller (will be back at Heart Gallery soon I hope)

And here are a few gems found along the way … some which will be appearing in Heart Gallery at some point over the 12 months I hope for your enjoyment too!

Charlotte Morrison's ceramics are part of our 'I DO' Wedding Exhibition launching 23 June 2013

Charlotte Morrison’s ceramics are part of our ‘I DO’ Wedding Exhibition launching 23 June 2013

I met the lovely Anne Brook, a textile artist who makes the most amazing stitched canvases in muted colourways that will sit lovely in Heart Gallery

I met the lovely Anne Brook, a textile artist who makes the most amazing stitched canvases in muted colourways that will sit lovely in Heart Gallery

I spotted Adam Harvey's delightful ceramics so I hope to work with him one day

I spotted Adam Harvey’s delightful ceramics so I hope to work with him one day

I've met Emma before and seen her beautiful glass so it was lovely to bump into her again at Saltaire. She had the perfect spot for the sunshine to dance on her butterflies

I’ve met Emma before and seen her beautiful glass so it was lovely to bump into her again at Saltaire. She had the perfect spot for the sunshine to dance on her butterflies

I didn't meet Beverley Gee but her decorative porcelain was right up my street!

I didn’t meet Beverley Gee but her decorative porcelain was right up my street!

Roz's papercuts adorned the fireplace beautifully and would be perfect in Heart Gallery as my customers love papercut work

Roz’s papercuts adorned the fireplace beautifully and would be perfect in Heart Gallery as my customers love papercut work

Sian's little rocks glistened with gold leaf

Sian’s little rocks glistened with gold leaf

My brief for the Best of Open Houses Award was to give the award to the artist or company behind the best presentation of a body of work in my opinion. So who won I hear you ask? It was a very difficult decision to make as you can imagine with so much wonderful work to see and so many homes showcasing artists work so well too. The flow that 6 Harold Place achieved by bringing the outside in from its stunning garden surroundings made it the best Open House as a whole for me so if I could have given more awards out I would have!

6

6 Harold Place

But … I only had the one award to give and it went to a husband and wife team from Lancashire called Bonkers Clutterbucks! Yes, it’s a strange name I know but it sort of sums up what they do and who they are quite well; bonkers about art and passionate about all things creative and collectable. Take a peek at some of their work I fell in love with and when it arrives at Heart Gallery I hope you fall in love with it too:

I chose work by a husband and wife team in Lancashire as the winners because ... well you know me - I'm a sucker for the whimsical!

I chose work by a husband and wife team in Lancashire as the winners because … well you know me – I’m a sucker for the whimsical!

I chose work by a husband and wife team in Lancashire as the winners because ... well you know me - I'm a sucker for the whimsical!

I chose work by a husband and wife team in Lancashire as the winners because … well you know me – I’m a sucker for the whimsical!

I chose work by a husband and wife team in Lancashire as the winners because ... well you know me - I'm a sucker for the whimsical!

I chose work by a husband and wife team in Lancashire as the winners because … well you know me – I’m a sucker for the whimsical!

Find out more about Saltaire Arts Trail here and if you can visit today or tomorrow then please do, you will have a fabulous time.

3 thoughts on “Saltaire Arts Trail and Makers Fair 2013

  1. Reblogged this on Paula Dunn and commented:
    Owner of Heart Gallery has something lovely to say about 6 Harold Place and the Saltaire Arts Trail. Thank you! Hope you enjoyed your judges meeting in our grade!

Leave a Reply

