A visit to Angela Smyth’s Studio

Angela Smyth - Artist and all round good egg!

Angela Smyth – Artist and all round good egg!

Meet Angela Smyth … local artist and all round good egg! I’ve long been an admirer of Angela’s work so when the opportunity came along recently to visit her local studio for a chat I grabbed it with both hands … who wouldn’t?

Angela

Angela’s Studio

Angela's Studio

Angela’s Studio

There was something in the air the day I went along … Angela’s studio seemed to cuddle me, keep me warm and make me feel safe.

Don't take life for granted x

Don’t take life for granted x

I could have stayed all day … particularly when Angela bobbed out for coffee from Cafe No 5 and came back with THE best carrot cake I have ever tasted!

Carrot cake, yummy x

Carrot cake, yummy x

Whilst Angela was out I was allowed to take a look at what she was working on, her previous work, paints, books … well in fact anything and everything .…if she’d told me to take a seat and not move I would have done as it was cosy and comfortable and I felt like moving in … even the dog bed looked inviting!

The Dog Bed!

The Dog Bed!

Silence is Golden - my Grandad told me this many moons ago ... he always added on "So keep quiet"!

Silence is Golden – my Grandad told me this many moons ago … he always added on the end however  “So keep quiet”, I don’t know what he was trying to say to me!!

Inspiration x

A pile of inspiration x

I was intrigued with the little pieces on Angela's main desk

I was intrigued with the little pieces on Angela’s main desk

Angela’s studio is so large and full of light so it doesn’t surprise me that she can’t wait to get there in a morning and be inspired by what the day wishes to throw at her. I was certainly inspired by many things in there, here are just a few …

inspiration boardAfter we had finished our lattes and most of the cake (it was a huge portion!) Angela and I spoke about her work arriving in Heart Gallery in between putting the world to rights! There were laughs, cuddles and tears in that studio I have to say …a great way to spend a Tuesday morning.

new workAngela has produced a small body of original paintings for us (including a painted suitcase) which have now arrived at Heart Gallery and are sitting beautifully in our Picture Gallery just in time for Christmas. If you haven’t yet managed to bob in to see this lovely new collection then please do; you will not be disappointed….our favourite two will be featured here soon for you to see.

Painted suitcase by Angela Smyth

Painted suitcase by Angela Smyth –  a real one-off and only £400

Now all I need to know is if I can use Angela’s Studio as a bolt hole whenever I feel the need to shut myself off from work or life …. complete with carrot cake of course, oh … and Angela!

Leave a Reply

