TAKING TIME TO LIVE WELL

Good morning friends, I hope you are all having a good start to the week. I was talking to a lovely regular customer at the weekend, as she purchased January issue of The Simple Things magazine from us, about the start to 2015 and what we felt we both needed this year … to slow down and get our Work/Life balance right!

Work Life Balance sold in Heart Gallery etched by Andy Poplar

Work Life Balance sold in Heart Gallery etched by Andy Poplar

When I finally sat down after a busy December in Heart Gallery (busier than usual as we were short staffed) followed by a lovely Christmas/New Year with my family it was the 4th January! I did my usual New Year thing of filling in my brand new Paperchase diary whilst looking back over 2014.

2015-01-12 08.44.33
As always there are ups and downs when you look back over your year but one of the main things that jumped out for me was that I spent so much more time working from October onwards than usual and didn’t get enough time for ‘me’, for family or for friends. This is what I would like to see change this year. Don’t get me wrong, I love my work and wouldn’t want to do anything else but there is a balance and last year I didn’t quite get it right!

Nov

So with all that in mind I sat down on my only day off this last week and picked up my November issue of The Simple Things and read (I am so behind with my magazines). The house was peaceful, just me and my cats, I had lit a fire, curled up on the sofa with a cuppa and some porridge and immersed myself in ‘me’ time …. I celebrated slowing down and it was wonderful. x

Leave a Reply

