Busy, Busy, Busy!

We are busy, busy, busy finalising the 2015 programme right now and that has meant another studio trip this week – boy I do love my job! 9 years ago I took a leap of faith and needed to find some courage to begin this new journey but I have never looked back. (You can read more about this here if you so wish).

COURAGE -  a reminder in Angela's studio

COURAGE – a painted reminder in Angela’s studio

The studio visit this week was another local one, Angela Smyth’s, and a studio I do visit quite frequently as somehow it always cuddles me and keeps me safe if that makes sense?

Angela always has fresh flowers in her studio

Angela always has fresh flowers in her studio

When Angela and I meet there is always coffee, always cake, always laughter and sometimes tears! There is always creative chat too and this week was no exception as we planned her October exhibition with us. We are all ever so excited about this one as Angela is working with an artist she has admired and respected for a long time (as we have here at Heart Gallery), multi-media artist Kirsty Elson.

This resonates with me

If you stand still in Angela’s studio you are likely to be painted – this resonates with me

Kirsty is a big fan of Angela’s work too so this will be a great collaboration and we can’t wait to give you more snippets of what’s in store for October … it is going to be an exciting show. In the meantime, more on my visit to Angela’s studio:

Ssshhhh, Angela thought I was only taking a picture of her paints and work table!

Ssshhhh, Angela thought I was only taking a picture of her paints and work table!

Close up of Angela's paints and brushes - why am I not surprised by the water vessel!

Close up of Angela’s paints and brushes – why am I not surprised by the water vessel!

Angela always takes Ruby to the studio who loves all the space she has there but when I arrive she wants to head out to the vast corridor in the mill to play ball games with me, which I really don’t mind doing at all…who could deny this beauty a runaround?

Please play with me Alison!

Please play with me Alison!

No studio should be without fairy lights should it and Angela’s is no exception to that unwritten rule. These have been gaily strung against one of the white painted brick walls offering a warm and inviting glow.

Who doesn't want fairy lights twinkling when you are working?

Who doesn’t want fairy lights twinkling when you are working?

Angela’s studio is always busy and I love the way that her walk to work, who she meets, her trip to Cafe No 5 can all influence how she starts the day and what she paints.

Finished work ends up underneath her really large table until it finds a new home.

Finished work ends up underneath her really large table until it finds a new home.

These are heading for Angela's Box Of Everything which is the main piece in the exhibition in October.

These are heading for Angela’s Box Of Everything which is the main piece in the exhibition in October.

Angela paints without constraints and is lead by her feelings, her paper, the light in her studio, the colours of her paints, everything really and that takes away any pressures for her so that the paint can flow freely. I believe that Kirsty also works this way; allowing the driftwood she collects to inform the finished piece. Our exhibition with Angela and Kirsty is certainly one for your diary folks so watch this space for more news! In the meantime, please do watch this short video of Kirsty to whet your appetite.

Angela can paint anything and everything, even this chair has been given the Angela Smyth treatment x

Angela can paint anything and everything, even this chair has been given the Angela Smyth treatment x

Angela has been offered a month’s residency in Italy this summer which will be an amazing opportunity for her and also for her son who is heading out there with her (I did offer to carry her brushes). We wish her a safe and wonderful journey which I’m sure you will do too and look forward to seeing the pictures.

 

Leave a Reply

