Design Factory

This last week I was invited by the Design Factory to be a guest speaker at their Preparing For Trade day at the National Centre for Craft and Design in Sleaford.

2016-03-14 10.08.09

2016-03-14 10.33.25

I had stayed in Lincoln the day before with my hubby as it was my Birthday (what a lovely city break that was, thoroughly recommend a visit if you’ve not been before) and the weather was perfect for the short trip to Sleaford … just enough time to quickly go over the notes I had made the night before!

2016-03-14 21.24.25

This is only the second time I have been asked to speak to designer/makers so I was pretty nervous actually. The last time was to about 300 at the BCTF breakfast meeting 2015 and I had ten minutes, this time I had 40 minutes but I was only addressing 20 creatives … don’t know which was more nerve wracking!

I did gain my stride and actually really enjoyed it in the end … the Design Factory members there were a great bunch of creatives and very kind asking relevant questions as well.

2016-03-14 11.41.15
I was in good company with another Gallery Proprietor, Antonia from Focus Gallery in Nottingham. Although we were both passing on information about approaching galleries and what to expect at trade shows etc Antonia and I brought different information to the room for the Design Factory members and gave them lots to think about.

2016-03-14 13.30.38-1

2016-03-14 13.57.28

Two very experienced Design Factory members, Myra Hutton and Jayne Childs, spoke after lunch about exhibiting at trade shows both in the UK and in Europe which was extremely informative for all.

2016-03-14 10.37.42

Hayley Banks had put a great programme together for the day which was informative and interesting but in a lovely relaxed and cosy setting and the feedback from the Design Factory members that attended was very good indeed so I think we all did an amazing job, pats on the back all round!

2016-03-14 21.24.56

The drive back home to sunny Yorkshire was just beautiful too!

2016-03-14 18.03.38

To find out more about the Design Factory and the benefits of being a member then do visit their website here. I can’t wait to visit the Design Factory stand at BCTF this year, they are a talented bunch.

Leave a Reply

